The PSPPD works through the Offices of the Premier in four provinces, namely Eastern Cape, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal and Limpopo. The relationship with each Office of the Premier is informed by the nature of the collaborative initiatives that are identified as provincial priorities. The engagement with the Office of the Premier in each province sees an exchange of knowledge and skills at an individual, team and organisational/departmental level, with opportunities provided for an exchange of knowledge and skills between provinces and national departments as well as research institutions.